divided in two houses

The Parliament of England is divided in two Houses: the House of Commons and the House of Lords. While the members of parliament in Commons are generally elected every five years, the Lords are selected – appointed by the Monarch, Queen Elizabeth, on the advice of the Prime Minister (not counting the ones that are hereditary peers, meaning they were given the position as a birthright).
While both Houses have the same tasks, the Commons have greater power. The British party with the largest number of members in the Commons will form the government after the Parliament is dissolved and every seat made vacant for the upcoming election.
Commons and Lords have it as their duty to make and shape laws, debate current issues and check the work of the government. Additionally, Commons are in charge of granting money to the government through approving Bills that raise taxes. The conclusions and resolutions one House makes will have to be accepted by the other, but the Lords don’t have any power to block or amend the Commons’ decisions on financial Bills.
Quite a few of the Lords have an array of jobs and occupations – they work in medicine, science, the arts, law, business and what-have-you, but many of them have political backgrounds. Since the peers in the House of Commons are elected and are required to be in a party for them to have the chance to even become elected, it is more common for the political interest to be higher in the House of Commons.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s